The Mathematica Journal Departments Download This Issue Home Feature Articles(home) Graphics Gallery Tricks of the Trade In and Out Columns New Products New Publications Calendar News Bulletins Mailbox Letter Write Us About the Journal Staff and Contributions Submissions Subscriptions Advertising Back Issues

Professional meetings, conferences, trade shows, exhibits and Mathematica training courses.

Please submit your additions to the calendar to calendar@mathematica-journal.com.

APRIL

April 15 - 17
1999 IMACC (Illinois Mathematics Association of Community Colleges) Conference
Allerton House, Allerton Park, Monticello, Illinois
Thursday, April 15 - Saturday, April 17

April 19 - 23
Mastering Mathematica
A week-long course that provides a concise and thorough account of the Mathematica system, includes hands-on sessions, and covers Mathematica's many features and the programming of extensions. Presenter: Dr. Allan Hayes, accredited Mathematica trainer and consultant. +44-(0)1703-293223; +44-(0)1703-292853 (fax)
Wessex Institute of Technology, Ashurst, Southampton, United Kingdom
http://www.wessex.ac.uk/programmes/course10.html
Monday, April 19 - Friday, April 23

April 22 - 24
1999 Annual Meeting of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
Moscone Convention Center, San Francisco, California
http://www.nctm.org/meetings/1999/Annual/index.html
Thursday, April 22 - Saturday, April 24

April 27 - 28
DSP World Spring Design Conference
Santa Clara Convention Center, Santa Clara, California
http://www.dspworld.com
Tuesday, April 27 - Wednesday, April 28

MAY

May 25 - 27
CLEO '99
Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics
Baltimore Convention Center, Baltimore, Maryland
http://www.osa.org/cleo/
Tuesday, May 25 - Thursday, May 27

JUNE

June 9 - 10
CE (Chemical Engineering) Expo
George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston, Texas
http://www.che.com
Wednesday, June 9 - Thursday, June 10

June 21 - 23
1999 ASEE (American Society for Engineering Education) Annual Conference & Exposition
Charlotte Convention Center, Charlotte, North Carolina
http://www.asee.org/conferences/annual99/
Monday, June 21 - Wednesday, June 23

June 21 - July 3
Mathematica in the Mountains
A series of courses including a graded sequence of four, three-day instructional courses in Mathematica and six, two-day specialized courses, all taught by experts. 970-453-2570; 970-453-2570 (fax).

Beginners Mathematica
Dates: June 21 - 23
Instructor: Lincoln Clark

Further Mathematica
Dates: June 24 - 26
Instructor: Michael Quinlan

Intermediate Mathematica
Dates: June 28 - 30
Instructor: Allan Hayes

Advanced Mathematica
Dates: July 1 - 3
Instructor: Allan Hayes

Mathematica and MathCode C++: The Ultimate Concept for Advanced Prototyping
Dates: June 21 - 22
Instructor: Mats Jirstrand

Front End Programming
Dates: June 23 - 24
Instructor: Allan Hayes

Mathematica and Excel I: Using Mathematica Link for Excel
Dates: June 25 - 26
Instructor: Anton Rowe

Mathematica and Excel II: Developing Mathematica-Based Applications in Excel
Dates: June 28 - 29
Instructor: Anton Rowe

Authoring in Mathematica and Publicon
Dates: June 30 - July 1
Instructor: Andre Kuzniarek

Optica II: A New Generation System for Optical Design and Analysis
Dates: July 2 - 3
Instructors: Donald Barnhart and Stephen Leibbrandt

Breckenridge, Colorado
Monday, June 21 - Saturday, July 3

June 24 - 26
Computing in Economics and Finance '99
Fifth international conference of the Society for Computational Economics
Boston College, Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts
Thursday, June 24 - Saturday, June 26

 

JULY

July 12 - 17
Rocky Mountain Mathematica
Two five-day, residential courses to develop Mathematica skills. Introductory Course: Aimed at users and teachers of mathematics and other scientific subjects who wish to enhance their use of Mathematica for presentations, projects, teaching, and research. Instructor: Ed Packel, accredited Mathematica trainer and consultant and Volwiler Professor of Mathematics, Lake Forest College, Illinois. Intermediate Course: Will go into more detail on programming and the numerical, symbolic and graphical issues that arise when trying to write efficient general-purpose routines. Instructor: Stan Wagon, accredited Mathematica trainer and consultant and Professor of Mathematics and Computer Science, Macalester College, Minnesota.
http://math.lfc.edu/Rocky_Mtn_Mathematica
Holiday Inn Resort Summit County, Frisco, Colorado
Monday, July 12 - Saturday, July 17

July 18 - 23
SPIE -- International Symposium on Optical Science, Engineering & Instrumentation
Denver Convention Center, Denver, Colorado
http://www.spie.org/info/annualmeeting/
Sunday, July 18 - Friday, July 23

AUGUST

August 23 - 25
IMS '99
The third IMS (International Mathematica Symposium) meeting that will be devoted to applications of computer algebra and in particular Mathematica and will provide a forum for users and researchers from diverse fields to present papers on original Mathematica-based work and to learn about current developments and uses of advanced scientific computing
Research Institute for Symbolic Computation, Hagenberg, Austria
http://www.risc.uni-linz.ac.at/conferences/summer99/ims99
Monday, August 23 - Wednesday, August 25

SEPTEMBER

September 28 - 30
OSA - Optical Society of America
Santa Clara Convention Center, Santa Clara, CA
http://www.osa.org/mtg_conf/
Tuesday, September 28 - Thursday, September 30

OCTOBER

October 19 - 21
Wescon '99
San Jose Convention Center, San Jose, California
http://www.wescon.com
Tuesday, October 19 - Thursday, October 21

October 21 - 23
1999 Mathematica Developer Conference
A conference at Wolfram Research headquarters that is an invaluable source of developer information and offers an excellent opportunity to meet and interact with the best Mathematica developers from around the world
Radisson Suite Hotel, Champaign, Illinois
http://www.wolfram.com
Thursday, October 21 - Saturday, October 23

NOVEMBER

November 1 - 4
DSP World Featuring ICSPAT
Orange County Convention Center, Orlando, Florida
http://dspworld.com
Monday, November 1 - Thursday, November 4

DECEMBER

December 4 - 10
Conference on Decision Control
Crowne Plaza, Phoenix, Arizona
http://www.ee.gatech.edu/conferences/cdc99
Saturday, December 4 - Friday, December 10

Contents copyright 1998
The Mathematica Journal